On A Walk…

As I took a walk, I stopped to view a fallen tree which had seemingly snapped into parts. I thought the¬†interior pattern¬†was very unique and different. I had left my cell phone and other electronics at my house and all I had was my camera. The more I walked down an abandoned path in the woods, I felt myself gaining awareness. Awareness of simple things like the wind, the shapes of the leaves, paw-prints in the soil, even to the buzzing of sounds around me. At first, I felt scared being alone by myself. But as I walked deeper into the woods, as I made my own path, I no longer felt lost or afraid. I was not lost because I knew where I was going – I was going where I wanted to, where I chose to go, even though I had no sense of direction. I was not afraid because I became comfortable being alone, and began to feel at peace….

 

About learningtolivedeliberately

I'm Victoria, eighteen years old from a small town in NH. I study English Literature and Writing at a small liberal arts college in Boston, MA. I find inspiration from authors like Henry David Thoreau, George Orwell and Charles Bukowski. I'm fascinated by nature and exploring the world around me. I strive to understand the inherent wanderlust seen not only in myself, but in many others around the world. This blog is to share what I have learned, and to record my journey into the wild.
Image | This entry was posted in Exploration, Life, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

