Wilderness and Wildness….

There is a difference between wilderness and wildness.

There is wilderness all around us. Physically, there is wilderness in nature. Wilderness in trees, rocks, oceans and mountains. There is wilderness in the mysterious connection between all living things.

There is wildness within people. From animal instinct to hunt, communicate, connect and observe, to a feeling of belonging and acceptance. There is wildness in parts of wilderness. Wildness is a feeling, an emotion, an idea. Wildness is part of human nature. We, as humans, are raised to belong and conform into the environment we are raised in. As time has progressed, I believe people have strayed from the connection with the inner wildness. As people have strayed from wildness, the wilderness around them is forgotten.

Do you ever feel alone?

Do you ever feel like you’re not whole?

I do.

I feel at times as if there is a piece of me missing. I have been missing an inherent connection to the wilderness around me. For too long have I strayed from seeking harmony and unity with my environment as a whole. I believe that it is important to remind ourselves how inferior we are to the universe, yet how superior we are in relativity to our every day environment. Humans have the power of free will and choice. I believe choosing to maintain a relationship with wilderness and nature is just as important as maintaining a relationship with people and society around us.

Balancing who we were, who we are, and who we wish to be is a welcomed challenge. In this process, it is important to keep harmony between inner wildness and external wilderness.

About learningtolivedeliberately

I'm Victoria, eighteen years old from a small town in NH. I study English Literature and Writing at a small liberal arts college in Boston, MA. I find inspiration from authors like Henry David Thoreau, George Orwell and Charles Bukowski. I'm fascinated by nature and exploring the world around me. I strive to understand the inherent wanderlust seen not only in myself, but in many others around the world. This blog is to share what I have learned, and to record my journey into the wild.
This entry was posted in Life, Nature, Research and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wilderness and Wildness….

  1. xxkultuur says:

    As a naturalist and educator I often feel this way. The important reminder is that we are not separate from nature. This is so easy to forget in daily life. Keep sharing your wonder of nature with others, and declaring your own heart a wilderness area, and you will never be lost.

Leave a Reply

