On Belonging…

I’m beginning to think people go into nature not as an attempt to escape the society around them, but rather in effort to relocate into a place of belonging.

Can a person ever truly escape society?

Many times, people tend to overlook the sole power of human beings. Is the company and environment that we choose to surround ourselves in not our own individual community? Wherever a person goes, there will be traces of their individual community, and traces of society as a whole. We tend to forget that we are the dictators of our own existence.

Nature is quiet. Nature is a place where communication is not the exchange of words or body language, but where the rising of the sun is nature’s “good morning”, and the sun’s setting is nature’s “goodnight”. In nature, there is no language barrier.

Perhaps the truth is that people have the ability to create a society wherever they go. This is the progress seen throughout history, and the progress we see currently. People go into nature for various reasons. However, the most beneficial experiences may be the ones when we go into nature understanding that we cannot escape the world around us. Instead, we hope that we find a place where we belong.

Whether it be in the city, a small town, farmland, in the depths of nature, wherever it may be, I hope you find where you belong. I hope you find where you at most comfortable and at peace.

As for me, I’m still looking for my place. I’m still trying to find a balance between the life I have in modern society and the life I enjoy in nature. Until then,  I continue to focus on what’s within me rather than on what’s around me.

About learningtolivedeliberately

I'm Victoria, eighteen years old from a small town in NH. I study English Literature and Writing at a small liberal arts college in Boston, MA. I find inspiration from authors like Henry David Thoreau, George Orwell and Charles Bukowski. I'm fascinated by nature and exploring the world around me. I strive to understand the inherent wanderlust seen not only in myself, but in many others around the world. This blog is to share what I have learned, and to record my journey into the wild.
This entry was posted in Exploration, Life, Nature, Reading, Research and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Belonging…

  1. Love this. I wrote a post about belonging back in January. Check it out: http://lifeintheblueridges.wordpress.com/2012/01/25/the-sense-of-belonging/ 🙂

Leave a Reply

