The City and Nature…

I grew up in a town just a few minutes out of Boston. Every day, I would awake to the sound of a roaring train, an airplane flying over my roof, and the whoosh of cars speeding down my street. I loved my home and my family, but I found it difficult to enjoy the chaotic environment around me.

However, I found that when I went into the city, which was quite frequently, I was overjoyed and ecstatic. I love Boston. Not only is it lively and exciting, but it is also beautiful and historic. I understand why people want to live in the city, because I share some of those same feelings.

What I’ve found through my research is that there are many different life styles that people choose. For instance, a person can live in the city and choose when to go out and into a quieter environment. Or, in contrast, some people choose to live on a farm or a more natural environment and go into the city when needed.

I’m trying to balance the two. I love nature as much as I love the city. I believe that the two share the same kind of mysterious¬†qualities. In nature, it is the raw materials of trees and streams and quiet that brings some people peace. In a city, the sense of being surrounded by people, the glow of streetlights, or the comfortable coffee shops that make some people feel at home.

Both have negative qualities as well. In a sense, the city seems dangerous, maybe even empty if the quality of what consists within the city is lacking. In nature, there can also be a sense of emptiness and danger.

I don’t believe that people have to give up one place to enjoy another. I think people should do what makes them happy and follow their happiness. If you, like me, find enjoyment from both places, then try to find a balance between the two.

 

About learningtolivedeliberately

I'm Victoria, eighteen years old from a small town in NH. I study English Literature and Writing at a small liberal arts college in Boston, MA. I find inspiration from authors like Henry David Thoreau, George Orwell and Charles Bukowski. I'm fascinated by nature and exploring the world around me. I strive to understand the inherent wanderlust seen not only in myself, but in many others around the world. This blog is to share what I have learned, and to record my journey into the wild.
This entry was posted in Exploration, Life, Nature, Reading, Research and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The City and Nature…

  1. Hello Victoria,

    I wanted to let you know that your article and blog are stunning. The pictures magnificent. If I could only walk right into the scenes you share I would do it in this moment. I very much appreciate all your words, encouragement and purpose. Wishing you Great LOVE, HEALTH & ABUNDANT HAPPINESS today and always! Take care and keep up your excellence it is very much enjoyed and appreciated.

    attractingwellness.net

Leave a Reply

