Religion and Nature…

When trying to answer why people go into nature in an attempt to escape mainstream society, it is important to understand that each person that has gone into nature has gone for their own reason(s). Collectively, there are general reasons like searching for adventure, trying to see the world and travel, scientific research, or escaping a rough family/social life. One answer, often overlooked, is that some people go into nature for religious reasons.

In particular, I have researched eastern religions, which, by the way, Thoreau was inspired by. These religions include Taoism, Buddhism, Hinduism, and many others.

The goal of Taoism is to live forever. In order to achieve immortality, a Taoist must meditate and submit to nature and the flow of energy because all things are connected. The five elements are water, earth, metal, wood and fire. The balance of all things, including the elements is represented through the symbol, the Yin and Yang. Taoism is closely related to nature because Taoists believe that nature (the 5 elements) are the source of energy and life.

Another religion that closely related to my research is Jainism. Jainism promotes non-violence to all living things. Many Jainist monks give up all material possessions and live as one with nature, meditating. Through this effort, Jainists hope to liberate their soul and free their inner essence. Jainism also believe that the universe is controlled by the laws of nature, and follow the Mahavratas.

Although I am no expert in the area of world religion, I do believe it’s important to recognize different ideas, religions and cultures. My research does not focus on religious reasons why people go into nature, but, it would only be ignorant of me not to include them. I certainly am interested in learning more about different religions.

My research continues to inspire me and remind me of how there never is just one answer…

 

About learningtolivedeliberately

I'm Victoria, eighteen years old from a small town in NH. I study English Literature and Writing at a small liberal arts college in Boston, MA. I find inspiration from authors like Henry David Thoreau, George Orwell and Charles Bukowski. I'm fascinated by nature and exploring the world around me. I strive to understand the inherent wanderlust seen not only in myself, but in many others around the world. This blog is to share what I have learned, and to record my journey into the wild.
This entry was posted in Exploration, Life, Nature, Reading, Research and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Religion and Nature…

  1. bethiarose says:

    I have meditated all my life and for me walking in nature is also a meditation and a joy, together giving me such a strong feeling of contentment and satisfaction that you describe beautifully in another post. My husband is an environmental scientist and he went into the study of nature for similar reasons as you describe. Have a look at this if you want to explore world theologies etc… http://www.freemeditation.com/ It has a universal outlook, for anyone, from any background, from any religion and so on, and the purpose is to find balance.

Leave a Reply

