On Friendship…

Henry David Thoreau and Ralph Waldo Emerson were known to be friends. Even after Thoreau went to Walden, Emerson frequently visited him, bringing him gifts and supplies every few days. Friendship is an important part of any person’s life.

In my life, I’ve learned that true friends are the ones that support you, are honest with you, and care about you. I believe without friendship, life would be terribly difficult to go through. Thoreau frequently reflected on what companionship was – whether it was companionship with nature, an animal, a friend, or yourself. Thoreau found that he had the ability to be alone and be comfortable with himself and his own thoughts. However, he valued the friendship between him and Emerson greatly.

Although there are times in life when it is important, maybe even vital to be independent or alone, there are frequently times when a friend is needed. Friendship not only provides joy in a person’s life but also offers support through the good times and the bad.

I challenge myself everyday to be a friend to those who have none, to those who I do not know, and to those who were once my enemy. When I was younger, I was bitter towards these people because of the offenses they had put forward to me. As I grew older however, I recognized how my actions and words may have offended others, and that, more importantly, everyone makes mistakes.

You can impact people in positive ways even by just smiling at them. As important as it is to have friends, it is important to be a friend. To listen, respect, support and care about someone else is a wonderful and profound thing. Not only does compassion make us human but it reminds us that we all go through trials and tribulations.

I strive to be a friend and protect the friendships I have. I remain open to new friends and new experiences. I urge you to do the same, to push yourself, and invest in a lifetime of love and friendship.

About learningtolivedeliberately

I'm Victoria, eighteen years old from a small town in NH. I study English Literature and Writing at a small liberal arts college in Boston, MA. I find inspiration from authors like Henry David Thoreau, George Orwell and Charles Bukowski. I'm fascinated by nature and exploring the world around me. I strive to understand the inherent wanderlust seen not only in myself, but in many others around the world. This blog is to share what I have learned, and to record my journey into the wild.
This entry was posted in Exploration, Life, Nature, Reading, Research and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

