Nature in the City

There are moments that I walk around the city and feel completely overwhelmed by the enormous skyscrapers, and the hurrying crowds of people. One is easily consumed by the fast-pace here, and can seemingly lose track of self and time.

Yet, in a city like Boston, there is nature around every turn, and on every corner.

As I walk to the nearest cafe, I hear the buzz of traffic around me, I see people scurrying from street to street, and I feel a sense of independence and, at times, isolation. People have a tendency to feel alone, it is in our nature. And some, in the city, tend to feel alone more often than not. But for me, it merely takes a moment to regain a sense of belonging.

Along the same street, I’ll see off to the side a river weaving itself underneath bridges and to the side of walking paths. In the winter, the river is frozen with ice, and the trees surrounding it offer a canopy of soft, fragile snow. It only takes a moment to change your perspective and focus your attention to a different aspect of life. There is the ability to look, and the ability to see. Many people may look at, for example, the river but think nothing of it, while some may see the river and understand the profoundness of nature.

Just as nature can grow in the city, so can I.

Sometimes, all it takes is someone to see something that has always been there. Simultaneously, it is just as amazing to see again what you have once seen.

I encourage you all to open your eyes, and see something new. See the beauty in nature, even when you think it does not exist. See what you once saw, and remember how it moved you. I I hope you are as captivated by the way life is connected.

About learningtolivedeliberately

I'm Victoria, eighteen years old from a small town in NH. I study English Literature and Writing at a small liberal arts college in Boston, MA. I find inspiration from authors like Henry David Thoreau, George Orwell and Charles Bukowski. I'm fascinated by nature and exploring the world around me. I strive to understand the inherent wanderlust seen not only in myself, but in many others around the world. This blog is to share what I have learned, and to record my journey into the wild.
This entry was posted in Exploration, Life, Nature, Photography, Quote, Reading, Research, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

