The Arrival of Spring

“When spring came, even the false spring, there were no problems except where to be happiest. The only thing that could spoil a day was people and if you could keep from making engagements, each day had no limits. People were always the limiters of happiness except for the very few that were as good as spring itself.” Ernest Hemingway, A Moveable Feast

I’ve always been captivated by the first snow fall of winterthe way the pure white snow falls and rests upon every tree and upon the soilhas always brought me a sense of peace and serenity. Although I admire the beauty of the freshly fallen powder, I cannot help but to be saddened by what is to come: slush, slippery roads, and power outages. The once innocent snow is soon stained by dirt and people are suddenly despondent and gloomy.

Winter takes a lot out of an individual. Yet, in this same way, winter is also the promise of spring.

For those who are patient, and endure the aggressive weather that winter entails, there is a reward. This reward lies not in a material matter, but rather in the change of seasons.

It was around morning when my father asked me to take a short walk with him. I went to reach for my winter coat, and he suggested I wear something lighter. I walked outside, and before I could say anything –

“Shh,” He whispered, “Can you hear the spring bird singing?”

And just as those words fell into my ear, a bird began to sing. Although I am not an expert on birds, I like to think that this bird was singing to express his contentment with the sunshine that I could feel beaming own onto my shoulders, warming my skin.

I thought to myself, this is the promise of spring. It was finally the end of winter.

Although I cannot honestly say that spring is my favorite season, it perhaps may be one of the most uplifting and enlightening. The rising temperature, sunshine, and flowers all seemingly bring out a cheerier side to people.

The arrival of spring is, in many ways, the indicator of the growth that is to come. People’s spirits are awoken, as if the world is coming back to life after the harsh winter. Spring is simply something I look forward to.

The trees begin to grow new leaves, and the flowers begin to bloom; nature is born again.

Each day I awake to the sound of the birds singing their springtime praise.

Open up your eyes and ears. Can you hear them?

About learningtolivedeliberately

I'm Victoria, eighteen years old from a small town in NH. I study English Literature and Writing at a small liberal arts college in Boston, MA. I find inspiration from authors like Henry David Thoreau, George Orwell and Charles Bukowski. I'm fascinated by nature and exploring the world around me. I strive to understand the inherent wanderlust seen not only in myself, but in many others around the world. This blog is to share what I have learned, and to record my journey into the wild.
This entry was posted in Exploration, Life, Nature, Quote, Reading, Research, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

