On Human Nature and the Boston Bombings

I am a Bostonian. I am an undergraduate student. I am a human being questioning what distinguishes good from evil.

I believe in the compassion found in the human soul, the understanding found in the human heart, and the thoughtfulness found in human hands.

Today, April 15th, Boston, MA was bombed. On a day that celebrates victory and achievement, while the city hosts a famous marathon that commemorates athleticism, the city and its people were wrongfully attacked.

Although this blog is dedicated to my findings in nature. I feel that it is necessary to examine the nature found within humans. After all, it is human nature, and the very essence of being that drives us to discover and explore the unknown. It is ultimately our nature as humans that delineates how we act and how we present ourselves, and to this extent, the moral codes by which we live by.

I believe that whomever was responsible for the bombings meant to bring despair to a city, and to a country. I believe that these people acted out of hate. I believe that the bombings in Boston were an act of evil.

As a Bostonian, who attended the marathon and was on the very street the bombing occurred, I think of the chaos that broke out after the bombs exploded. I heard both bombs detonate, sounding like canons. I quickly went back to my campus’ residence halls. Like many people this day, I was afraid, I was disturbed, and I was disgusted.

I was afraid because I didn’t know what was happening. I was disturbed when I watched the news and saw people frantically seeking help. I was disgusted to hear that these were planted bombs, aimed to harm those who attended the marathon and athletes, and again to find out that the JFK Presidential Library had also been bombed.

I can only empathize with those who had been immediately affected by the bombing and their families. An act of such violence should never have happened.

I don’t understand what drives a person to commit such an act of evil. I don’t understand such contempt or disdain. I don’t believe I ever will.

However, more importantly than this, I do recognize the acts of courage, bravery, and kindness that occurred after the bombings.

In spite of the fear and chaos, Boston’s emergency response units and BPD immediately ran into the smoke to begin helping people. While many people ran away from the scene, some remained to help the casualties. This I believe is the goodness found within humans. I believe that these actions outweigh that of those who seek to harm others.

Furthermore, it is the response from fellow Bostonians and the entire country that re-ensures the goodness in human nature. The support from the local and national community has been tremendous, and I am sure those immediately affected are grateful for all thoughts and prayers. Such acts of violence have brought the nation together in the past, and on this day, the nation has come together again.

It is necessary to keep in mind that the bombs in Boston were not just an attack on the US, but also an attack on the world. Over 93 countries were represented by athletes in the marathon. With this in mind, the world must come together to defend against such acts of violence.

I believe that Boston will recover, although things may never be the same. I believe with the helping hand of a neighbor, and the thoughtfulness of a community, Boston will grow stronger and closer. The victims will never be forgetten. I do hope that this country’s administration and government seeks more preventive measures and brings justice to the situation.

On this day, and from this day forth:

Hold you loved ones a little closer.

Help those around you.

Take the time to appreciate all that life has to offer.

Protect the good in human nature.

Protect innocence.

Defend against violence.

Believe in community.

Fight for what you believe in.

On this day, and on all days, God bless America.

About learningtolivedeliberately

I'm Victoria, eighteen years old from a small town in NH. I study English Literature and Writing at a small liberal arts college in Boston, MA. I find inspiration from authors like Henry David Thoreau, George Orwell and Charles Bukowski. I'm fascinated by nature and exploring the world around me. I strive to understand the inherent wanderlust seen not only in myself, but in many others around the world. This blog is to share what I have learned, and to record my journey into the wild.
This entry was posted in Boston, Exploration, Life, Nature, Research, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to On Human Nature and the Boston Bombings

  1. Very well written – truly beautiful words.

  2. Well said. Hate is an awful thing, Those who act upon it have lost their humanity.
    The notion that an act of hateful violence will cause the world to pay attention can be compared to to a toddler throwing a tantrum. When will these idiotic terrorists recognize this?

  3. Heather says:

    well said…life is fragile, a tragedy like this makes it all the more obvious…be well!
    thank you for visiting…

  4. thirdhandart says:

    I’m so glad that you weren’t physically hurt. My thoughts and prayers go out to everyone who was hurt… physically and psychologically.

Leave a Reply

